Sweetheart Seer Books

PREDICTING YOUR NEXT GREAT READ

Category: ARC

*I was provided an e-arc from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.*

“Mask of Shadows” (Duology #1) by Linsey Miller

There was a LOT of hype around this book so I was super excited to get to read an early copy for review. It was marketed as being perfect for fans of Sarah J Maas (Which why why why are so many fantasy books now said to be just like SJM? It’s okay to not be. Her writing is great don’t get me wrong, but it’s getting a little overkill […]

Continue Reading →

“In 27 Days” by: Alison Gervais

There are few books that I feel show strong character relationship builds…this book was one of them. The relationship between Hadley and Archer felt extremely realistic. Archer is not 100% perfect Mr. Prince Charming Swoon over him because he is so perfect. He is flawed. He has issues. He isn’t your “typical” loner bad boy that just needs some good girl to come along… ::::::WARNING: SPOILERS AHEAD:::::::: Hadley reminded me […]

Continue Reading →

“Hook’s Tale” by: John Leonard Pielmeier

I am a sucker for any type of modern retelling of a well-loved story. The writing style was interesting and the story pace was decent, however I felt it was a bit more telling instead of showing. Let me elaborate. There was a lot of “but I’ll get to that later” which felt a bit like filler to me. If we aren’t getting to that until later perhaps find a […]

Continue Reading →

“Who Is Rich?” by: Matthew Klam

The writing style was very meandering. The character was meandering through his life as well, so it fit. A man who is in his forties and classically going through a mid-life crisis in my opinion, he is wandering around and hurting people without really meaning to. He is hurting his wife, his children, his mistress and her children, the mistresses husband too. I have a real issue with books like […]

Continue Reading →

“Roar” by Cora Carmack

Okay, so the cover art for this book is startlingly gorgeous. Major props to the artist and to the publishing company and for everyone involved in making this so visually breathtaking. To address the startlingly obvious elephant in the room there are more than a few comparisons that cane be made between the female protagonist Aurora and Daenerys from the A Song of Ice and Fire series by George R. […]

Continue Reading →

“The Great Granny Cake Contest!” by: Tracey Corderoy; Illustrator: Joe Berger

To say this was a delightful read would not be doing it justice. From the very first page, the magic and mayhem that Pandora and her Grandmother get into makes you keep flipping the pages to see what schemes occur next! A cat named Cobweb, a magical Mom that doesn’t use her magic named Moonbeam, and a Dad that doesn’t have magic, the characters in this adorable read seem to […]

Continue Reading →

“The Girl With The Ghost Machine” by: Lauren DeStefano

Originally I will admit I judged this book by the cover. (I referenced this work on my YouTube channel as an upcoming book I would be reading from a video posted on 4/15/17.) The story itself however, drew me in and was a page turner/quick read. The subject matter right from the beginning is heavy and very well handled by the author.ย  Emmaline is the main character whose Mom has […]

Continue Reading →

“Breakwater” by: Catherine Jones Payne

Right away, you notice that stunning cover. It is gorgeous and on par with the cover for the book Roar by Cora Carmack (review will be posted on May 14th). Exquisite! ย This one had a LOT of tag possibilities as it spans some genres and had a lot of different themes. I was stoked to see a mermaid story up for grabs that had some intrigue and depth (pun-alert!) to […]

Continue Reading →

“Within Walking Distance: Creating Livable Communities for All” by Philip Langdon

I knew I wanted to review this specifically because I saw Portland, OR listed as one the cities “explored” in this guide. I DEVOURED this. Seriously. I feel like I should have some jetlag from all my traveling…I loved that the writing style was educational/informative enough to really help me to build these cities in my mind as I read about them! The intro lays out the premise of the […]

Continue Reading →

“Odd Birds” by: Ian Harding

As soon as I read the description, I knew I had to put in a request to review this one right away! Pretty Little Liars is a show that I have stuck with since the beginning and it has been like a “guilty pleasure” show. I liked Ezra as a character and thought Ian portrayed the character well. I also thought it interesting that Ezra writes a book in the […]

Continue Reading →