Sweetheart Seer Books

PREDICTING YOUR NEXT GREAT READ

Tag: Fantasy

“Beasts of Extraordinary Circumstance” by: Ruth Emmie Lang

My initial first response in reading this book was sheer childlike glee and excitement. It has been a LONG time since I dove into a Fantasy novel, especially by a new author, and loved every moment of it. There were snippets here that reminded me a bit of the Kingkiller Chronicles by Patrick Rothfuss. I feel like especially the elements toward the end where a certain young character is introduced […]

Continue Reading →

“Girls Made of Snow and Glass” by Melissa Bashardoust

I first heard about this one in the BuzzBooks Fall/Winter preview (See my blog post here) When I was approved, I jumped into reading. I like re-tellings when the story is taken and made into the authors own. That was evident here. Being told in two separate timelines, from before the Evil Queen,ย Mina age sixteen, rose to power and Snow, Lynet age fifteen, when Mina is already in power. The […]

Continue Reading →

“Mask of Shadows” (Duology #1) by Linsey Miller

There was a LOT of hype around this book so I was super excited to get to read an early copy for review. It was marketed as being perfect for fans of Sarah J Maas (Which why why why are so many fantasy books now said to be just like SJM? It’s okay to not be. Her writing is great don’t get me wrong, but it’s getting a little overkill […]

Continue Reading →

“The Inventor’s Secret Trilogy” by: Andrea Cremer

The Inventor’s Secret (Book #1) This was the second book I started and the third that I completed for #Booktubeathon2017. I chose this one as the “Read a book completely outside” challenge. The first day (Day 2 of Booktubeathon) I knocked out 206 pages total outdoors. I then began my third book (audio of When Dimple Met Rishi) and finished that one before I finally went to bed around 2 […]

Continue Reading →

“Caraval” by: Stephanie Garber

In listening to this audiobook, read by Rebecca Soler, I knew I was going to listen to the whole thing in one day and I was able to do just that. Stopping for breaks and picking right back up, the story line never felt lost or dropped. Everything threaded pretty well together. This was a fun romp and reminded me a lot of a mix between Alice in Wonderland in […]

Continue Reading →

“The Graveyard Book” by: Neil Gaiman

I had heard mixed things about Gaiman’s work, so I was a little hesitant to jump in to see what I thought. It seemed that either people loved his writing or hated it and there wasn’t much in the middle. I am glad that I decided to pick this up from my local library, because it blew my expectations right out of the water! I LOVED the premise and even […]

Continue Reading →

“A Shadow Bright and Burning” (Kingdom on Fire, #1) by: Jessica Cluess

Stunning cover aside, which the meaning of gets further explained toward the end, Cluess begins her tale in medias res. While it always takes a little bit to get ones bearings, this style is always a welcome one for me. I LOVED that she took the trope of Chosen One and spun it on its head. My favorite characters were probably not what many had as favs, Rook probably being […]

Continue Reading →

“Roar” by Cora Carmack

Okay, so the cover art for this book is startlingly gorgeous. Major props to the artist and to the publishing company and for everyone involved in making this so visually breathtaking. To address the startlingly obvious elephant in the room there are more than a few comparisons that cane be made between the female protagonist Aurora and Daenerys from the A Song of Ice and Fire series by George R. […]

Continue Reading →

“The Great Granny Cake Contest!” by: Tracey Corderoy; Illustrator: Joe Berger

To say this was a delightful read would not be doing it justice. From the very first page, the magic and mayhem that Pandora and her Grandmother get into makes you keep flipping the pages to see what schemes occur next! A cat named Cobweb, a magical Mom that doesn’t use her magic named Moonbeam, and a Dad that doesn’t have magic, the characters in this adorable read seem to […]

Continue Reading →

“Big Fish” by: Daniel Wallace

Edward Bloom is quite a character. He obviously uses humor to diffuse serious situations, but he also really likes telling tall tales. I think a lot of it was that he felt like an ordinary man. Too ordinary. Too average. He wanted his son to think he hung the moon. Edward wanted his son to think him mythical. Larger than life. He wanted love and admiration. I don’t think he […]

Continue Reading →